Thought for food.

I made a salad yesterday. On my own volition I made a vegan salad. There was no cheese. There was not a shred of cheese. But I enjoyed it. Roasted chickpeas, avocado, and an olive oil, lime, brown sugar dressing.  No one held a gun to my head, and I could have just as easily made something that wasn’t a salad, but I ate it.

Don’t buy health food bars when you want candy. It will make you not like health food bars. Just buy the fucking candy.

Food can dismantle oppression. I really believe it. Eating can be a radical act of self-care. Cooking is kindness and feeding others is hospitality. I want to eat with an Assisian commitment to animals and plants. My faith is centered around stories of god as a person gathering with friends around a table. I hope that the food that nourishes me also nourishes my community.

 

 

Leave a Reply

